News from ISA


Theory Section 2015 Award Winners

The Theory Section is pleased to announce the winners of our book and paper awards for 2015.   The Best Book Award has been awarded to Dr. Lauren Wilcox, of the University of Cambridge.  Her book is titled Bodies of Violence: Theorizing Embodied Subjects in International Relations.  The book award committee has also granted an Honorable Mention to Dr. Ayten Gündoğdu, of Barnard College, for her book Rightlessness in an Age of Rights: Hannah Arendt and the Contemporary Struggles of Migrants.  The Paper Award committee has bestowed the Post-PhD Paper Award to Dr. Michael Crawford Urban, of the University of Toronto, for his paper “How to study trust in international relations.”  The Pre-PhD Paper Award has been awarded to Dr. Nicole Sunday Grove, now at the University of Hawai’i at Manoa, for her paper, “The Cartographic Ambiguities of HarassMap: Crowdmapping Security and Sexual Violence in Egypt.”  The committee has also given an honorable mention to Alena Drieschova, of the University of Toronto, for her paper “Peirce's Semeiotics: A Methodology for Bridging the Material-Ideational Divide in IR Scholarship.” All of the awards will be conferred at the Theory Section business meeting at the ISA Annual Convention 2016 in Atlanta.  Both award committees are thankful for everyone who nominated a book or paper for consideration.  We received strong nominations in each category, and enjoyed immersing ourselves in the work of such great scholars.
Posted in: Awards


There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.
Start the Discussion...
Only registered users may post comments.


ISA on Twitter


Newsletter Archive

Check out our newsletter archives here!