News from ISA


ISA Nominating Committee Report 2016

After careful deliberation, the International Studies Association Nominating Committee (David Capie, Nanette Levinson, Scott Gartner, Mark Crescenzi, Norrin Ripsman, Sabine Carey, Tricia Lynne Sullivan, Birol Yesilada) agreed on a single slate of candidates for ISA Officers: 

  • President: Brett Ashley Leeds (Rice University) 
  • Vice President: Rorden Wilkinson (University of Sussex, UK)
  • Vice President: Jennifer Sterling-Folker (University of Connecticut) 
  • Vice President: Audie Klotz (Syracuse University)

We also selected nominees for at-large representatives to the governing council from outside the recognized ISA regions. Our charge is to forward five candidates for three positions. We recommend the following candidates: 

  • At-Large Representative: Belgin San-Akca (Koc University, Turkey)
  • At-Large Representative: Thomas Bernauer (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
  • At-Large Representative: David Hornsby (University of Witwatersrand, South Africa)
  • At-Large Representative: Gunther Hellmann (Goethe University, Germany)
  • At-Large Representative: Omar McDoom (LSE, UK)

All of these nominees have been contacted by the Committee Chair and have agreed to serve if elected. 

The committee followed procedures very similar to those of previous years.  We met and organized at the 2015 annual meeting and prepared calls for nominations that were distributed to the full membership. ISA headquarters emailed section and caucus chairs and workshop chairs to solicit nominations for at-large positions.  ISA headquarters also sent calls through the newsletter and other social media.  We set a deadline of June 15, 2015 for nominations and asked for a letter in support of each candidate, a CV, and a statement of willingness to serve (following the precedent last year).  We made decisions via an online conference on July 6, 2015.

We had six nominations for president, seven for vice president, and eleven for at-large representative.  The committee was pleased to have multiple strong candidates for each position.  We are pleased with the final slate of candidates and believe they will serve ISA well in their capacities as officers and representatives of the association.

This report was prepared by Deborah W. Larson, acting as the chair of the ISA Nominating Committee (members include David Capie, Nanette Levinson, Scott Gartner, Mark Crescenzi, Norrin Ripsman, Sabine Carey, Tricia Lynne Sullivan and Birol Yesilada). The report was submitted July 8, 2015 for the 2016 Governing Council meeting in Atlanta.

Posted in: Headquarters


There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.
Start the Discussion...
Only registered users may post comments.


ISA on Twitter


Newsletter Archive

Check out our newsletter archives here!

The International Studies Association

Representing 100 countries, ISA has over 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 7 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use