News and Updates from FPA


NO Image:
ISA Headquarters posted in Headquarters on November 05, 2015
Elections for ISA's new officers are quickly approaching, including the President, Vice Presidents and At-Large representatives to ISA's Governing Council. The ISA officer election for the 2017-2018 term will open November 5th, and close December 5th.
Alex Walker posted in Headquarters on August 31, 2015
The International Studies Association is pleased to announce that Kerry Crawford, Assistant Professor of Political Science at James Madison University, is the recipient of the 2015 James N. Rosenau Post-Doctoral Fellowship.  The Rosenau Fellowship will allow Professor Crawford to spend the academic year further developing her research agenda, as well as collaborating with ISA HQ on a number of projects.
Alex Walker posted in Headquarters on August 19, 2015

The issue of censorship – broadly defined as the control of the information and ideas circulated within a society through the suppression of words and images – touches on profound questions regarding the relationship between academia and politics, the scope of academic freedom and the nature of ‘responsible scholarship,’ and to what extent scholarship can and should be disciplined by ‘national security’ discourses and policies. To stimulate a discussion on these issues, the JoGSS editors are looking for papers systematically exploring (the politics of) censorship from a variety of angles.

ISA Headquarters posted in Headquarters on August 14, 2015
A new series of short books (SpringerBriefs) called 'Pioneers in Science and Practice', edited by Hans Günter Brauch, now features volumes on five former ISA presidents: Chadwick Alger, Nils Petter Gleditsch, Kalevi Holsti (in press), Herbert Kelman (in press), and Bruce Russett.
Alex Walker posted in Headquarters on July 27, 2015
After careful deliberation, the International Studies Association Nominating Committee (David Capie, Nanette Levinson, Scott Gartner, Mark Crescenzi, Norrin Ripsman, Sabine Carey, Tricia Lynne Sullivan, Birol Yesilada) agreed on a single slate of candidates for ISA Officers: Brett Ashley Leeds for president; Rorden Wilkinson (U. of Sussex, UK), Jennifer Sterling-Folker, and Audie Klotz for vice presidents.  We also selected nominees for at-large representatives to the governing council from outside the recognized ISA regions.  Our charge is to forward five candidates for three positions.  We recommend the following candidates: Belgin San-Akca (Koc University, Turkey), Thomas Bernauer (ETH Zurich, Switzerland), David Hornsby, University of Witwatersrand, South Africa), Gunther Hellmann (Goethe University, Germany), and Omar McDoom (LSE, UK).  
Mark A. Boyer posted in Headquarters on July 21, 2015
As per this summer's election, the proposed amendment to the ISA Constitution (that would alter the requirement on the number of signatures needed to establish a new Section - from 100 to 3.5% of the membership) was passed by a margin of more than 46%.
Page 13 of 18First   Previous   8  9  10  11  12  [13]  14  15  16  17  Next   Last   

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 6 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use