News and Updates from FPA

Alex Walker posted on August 05, 2016 08:00

After careful deliberation, the International Studies Association Nominating Committee (David Capie, Sabine Carey, Nanette Levinson, Galia Press-Barnathan, Norrin Ripsman, Kamal Sadiq, Hendrik Spruyt, Tricia Lynne Sullivan, Birol Yesilada) unanimously agreed on a single slate of candidates for ISA Officers:

  • President: Patrick James (University of Southern California)
  • Vice President: Havard Hegre (Upsalla University)
  • Vice President: Zaryab Iqbal (Pennsylvania State University)
  • Vice President: Edward Mansfield (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Treasurer: T. Clifton Morgan (Rice University)

We also selected nominees for at-large representatives (from outside the recognized ISA regions) to the governing council. Our charge is to forward five candidates for three at-large positions. We recommend the following candidates:

  • At-Large Representative: Kristin Bakke (University College London)
  • At-Large Representative: Arie Kacowicz (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
  • At-Large Representative: Selcan M. Kaynak (Bogazici University)
  • At-Large Representative: Kanica Rakhra (Consultant, New Delhi, India)
  • At-Large Representative: Marcelo Valenca (Rio de Janeiro State University)

On behalf of the committee, the chair contacted each of these nominees; each is willing to serve if elected.

The committee followed procedures very similar to those of previous years. We met and organized at the 2016 annual meeting and prepared calls for nominations that were distributed to the full membership. ISA headquarters also emailed our request for nominations to section and caucus chairs and workshop chairs. Additionally, ISA Headquarters sent calls through the newsletter and other social media. We set a deadline of June 15, 2016 for nominations and asked for a letter of nomination, a CV, and a statement of willingness to serve. We made careful decisions, using formal ISA criteria, with a final, extensive deliberation via an online July 13 conference with all Nominating Committee members participating (covering at least five different time zones!).

We had five nominations for president, six for vice president, one for treasurer, and six for at-large representative. More than fifty individual ISA members participated by way of making nominations, attesting to the strength of this year’s candidate pool. The committee is pleased with the final slate of candidates and believes they will serve ISA well in their capacities as officers and representatives of the association. The committee also wishes to express its gratitude to all nominators and those nominated; these nominations reflect the nominees’ vibrancy and commitment to leadership as well as a strong future for our Association.

This report was prepared by Nanette S. Levinson, acting as the chair of the ISA Nominating Committee (members include David Capie, Sabine Carey, Nanette Levinson, Galia Press-Barnathan, Norrin Ripsman, Kamal Sadiq, Hendrik Spruyt, Tricia Lynne Sullivan, and Birol Yesilada). The report was submitted July 24, 2016 for the 2017 Governing Council meeting in Baltimore.

Read the Full Article in the Online Library
Posted in: Headquarters
Discuss this Article
There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.
Start the Discussion...
Only registered users may post comments.

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 6 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use