News and Updates from FPA

Alex Walker posted on July 20, 2016 14:00

The Women’s Caucus of the International Studies Association (WCIS) is pleased to announce the call for applications/nominations for our two annual awards, the Deborah “Misty” Gerner Grant for Professional Development and the Susan S. Northcutt Award.

The Deborah “Misty” Gerner Grant for Professional Development (“Gerner Award”) is awarded by the Women’s Caucus (WCIS) of the International Studies Association and sponsored by Lynne Rienner Publishers. Deborah Gerner (1956-2006) was a much-loved and inspirational scholar who worked extensively on contributing to conflict resolution and peace in the Middle East. She was also a great advocate for women scholars in the international relations discipline. Funds from this grant may be used to support any legitimate professional development identified by the candidate. Some examples of possible uses include the following: (a) Travel to a professional meeting, (b) travel to conduct interviews, work with a colleague on a collaborative project, or field research, (c) purchase of databases, software, books, or other materials needed for research, or (d) participation in an appropriate pedagogy workshop or institute. Please note that these are just examples, and other documented professional development needs will be considered.

Recipients must meet the following criteria:

  1. Scope of the Grant: While there are no restrictions on the subject of a candidate's research or teaching area, it will be incumbent upon the candidate to document (a) the need for the professional development activity to be supported by the grant, (b) the appropriateness of the proposed venue/purchase, and (c) the feasibility of the proposed project/activity within the specified time frame. Should the case arise where more than one candidate qualifies for the award under these criteria, preference will be given to applicants whose research or pedagogical goals focus on conflict resolution, achieving peace in the Middle East, and/or the role of women in international relations.
  2. ISA Membership: Although there will be no administrative costs deducted from this award and the opportunity is open to both members and non-members of ISA, any non-member recipient must immediately join the Association to receive this award in order to maintain ISA’s tax-exempt status.


  1. One recipient of the Gerner Award will receive a prize of $2000.
  2. An award certificate will be presented at the WCIS/FTGS/LGBTQA reception at the International Studies Association Annual Convention.

Applying for the Grant

  1. Please include each of the following documents in ONE PDF file by email to the committee chair ( Complete Curriculum Vitae,, a brief narrative describing proposed project/activity (one-page), and a detailed budget (one-page)
  2. Nominations/applications deadline: 1st October 2016

Selection Process

  1. The WCIS Executive Committee will rank applications/candidates with the final selection made by Lynne Rienner.


The Susan S. Northcutt Award (“Northcutt Award”) was established in 2003 by the Women’s Caucus for International Studies (WCIS) to honor the Caucus’ founder, Susan S. Northcutt. The award recognizes a person who actively works towards recruiting and advancing women and other minorities in the profession, and whose spirit is inclusive, generous and conscientious. The award recognizes someone who has made significant contributions through service and competence to the field of international studies and to the International Studies Association.

Recipients must meet the following criteria:

  1. The recipient must be a current member of ISA.
  2. The recipient must demonstrate the strength of their candidacy based on the intention of the Northcutt Award, which is to recognize not only outstanding service and competence in their field, but also exceptional inclusivity and courageous work in advancing women and other minorities in the international studies profession.


  1. The recipient of the Northcutt Award will receive an award certificate and commemorative vase at the ISA Business Meeting.

Selection Process

  1. The award is made annually on the basis of nominations by member(s) of the ISA and selection by the WCIS Executive Committee.

Nominations for the Award

  1. Nomination should include a brief (three pages maximum) articulation of the candidate’s strengths relevant to the aims of the Northcutt Award.
  2. Self-nominations are welcomed.
  3. Nominations deadline: 1st October 2016.

Questions regarding the application/nomination process may be directed to Gigi Gokcek, WCIS Awards/Nominations Coordinator at

Persons wishing to make a donation to the funds supporting each Award can send a check to ISA Headquarters. The check should be payable to ISA, with a specific notation as to which Award fund it is directed. (eg. “WCIS Susan S. Northcutt Award Fund” or “WCIS Deborah “Misty” Gerner Grant for Professional Development”).

Read the Full Article in the Online Library
Discuss this Article
There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.
Start the Discussion...
Only registered users may post comments.

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 6 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use