News and Updates from FPA

Angelica Robison posted on October 07, 2013 17:00

Thank you very much to those who took the time to vote on the LGBTQA Caucus' awards recently. The wording of the award descriptions was approved by 15 votes to 2 in the recent survey of LGBTQA Caucus members. 

Opinion was split on the question of whether the Courage Award should be made primarily to a person or organisation located in the community where the annual meeting is being held, with 8 votes in favour and 9 against. In light of this, while we will solicit nominations of groups or individuals in the communities where the annual meeting is located, the geographical scope of the award is not limited to the annual meeting location. 

The next step is to collect nominations for both of these awards. Please email your nominations to the Chair of the Awards Committee, Michael Bosia (, no later than October 25, 2013

The final award descriptions are below. 

Courage Award

The Courage Award recognizes an activist or engaged scholar from the community where the annual meeting is located.  Nominees will be individuals or organizations addressing the issues of concern to the LGBTQ community and sexual minorities globally and that are the focus of the research of caucus members, including but not limited to issues of sexuality, gender, and race, development, inequality, human rights, conflict resolution, violence and war, and global solidarity and justice.
Nomination Deadline:   October 25, 2013

The LGBTQA Scholar Award

This award recognizes individuals whose scholarship or teaching and mentoring serve as a model for the integration within international studies of subjects of concern to the LGBTQ community or those incorporating theoretical and empirical perspectives on sexuality and gender.  Awards can be made for an individual paper or journal article, book or edited collection, or for distinguished service in teaching and mentoring within academia in general and ISA in particular.  Scholarship awards will be made only for work presented or published during the 12 months previous to the nomination deadline.  Teaching or mentoring awards will be made in recognition of an ongoing and distinguished commitment or for an individual activity or project in teaching and mentoring of great significance to LGBTQ scholars during the 12 months previous to the nomination deadline.
Nomination Deadline:   October 25, 2013

Please see the Caucus' awards website for more information.

Read the Full Article in the Online Library
Discuss this Article
There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.
Start the Discussion...
Only registered users may post comments.

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 6 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use