FPA Governance and Leadership

Past Section Chairs

Philip Burgess, Ohio State University 1971-1973
George Antunes, Rice University 1973-1974
John H. Sigler, Carleton University, Ottawa 1974-1975
Steven Salmore, Rutgers University 1976-1977
Maurice A. East, University of Kentucky 1977-1978
Andrew K. Semmel, University of Cincinnati 1978-1979
Roy E. Licklider, Rutgers University 1979-1980
Frederic Pearson, University of Missouri, St. Louis 1980-1981
Eugene R. Wittkopf, University of Florida 1981-1982
Linda P. Brady, U.S. Department of Defense 1982-1983
Lawrence Falkowski, Louisiana State University 1983-1984
Llewellyn Howell, American University 1984-1985
Bruce Watson, Defense Intelligence College 1985-1986
Jerel Rosati, University of South Carolina 1986-1987
Joe Hagan, University of Wyoming 1987-1988
Martin Sampson, University of Minnesota 1988-1989
David Skidmore, Drake University 1989-1990
Valerie Hudson, Brigham Young University 1990-1991
Deborah Gerner, University of Kansas 1991-1992

Past Presidents

Ralph Carter, Texas Christian University 1992-1993
Heidi Hobbs, Florida International University 1993-1994
Donald Sylvan, Ohio State University 1994-1995
Douglas Van Belle, University of New Orleans 1995-1996
Alex Mintz, Texas A&M University 1996-1997
Marijke Breuning, Truman State University 1997-1998
Steve Chan, University of Colorado, Boulder 1998-1999
Steve Hook, Kent State University 1999-2000
Phillip Schrodt, University of Kansas 2000-2001
Jim Scott, University of Nebraska-Kearney 2001-2002
A. Cooper Drury, University of Missouri 2002-2003
Juliet Kaarbo, University of Kansas     2003-2004
Patrick James, University of Missouri     2004-2005
Steven B. Redd, UW-Milwaukee     2005-2006
Jeffrey Pickering, Kansas State University 2006-2007
Mark Schafer, Louisiana State University, 2007-2008
Christopher M. Jones, Northern Illinois University, 2008-2010
Laura Neack, Miami University 2010-2011
Patrick J. Haney, Miami University, 2011-2012
Cameron Thies, University of Iowa, 2012-2013
Stephen Saideman, Carleton University, 2013-2014
Deborah Welch Larson, University of California, Los Angeles, 2014-2015
Klaus Brummer, University of Erlangen-Nürnberg/Catholic University of Eichstätt-Ingolstadt, 2015-2016
Dursun Peksen, University of Memphis, 2016-2017
Brian Lai, University of Iowa, 2017-2018

FPA Charter

The structure, leadership and policies of FPA are outlined in its charter.

FPA Charter

The International Studies Association

Representing over 100 countries, ISA has more than 6,500 members worldwide and is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field. Endeavoring to create communities of scholars dedicated to international studies, ISA is divided into 6 geographic subdivisions of ISA (Regions), 29 thematic groups (Sections) and 4 Caucuses which provide opportunities to exchange ideas and research with local colleagues and within specific subject areas.
Help   |   Thanks   |   Privacy Statement   |   Terms Of Use