ISA South Charlotte 2013: Call for Proposals

This conference has closed. This page is kept for archival purposes only. If you have any questions, please contact ISA Headquarters.

Public Private Partnerships: Responding to Global Challenges

The deadline for the submission of proposals is August 16, 2013.

The theme of this year's conference is Public Private Partnerships: Responding to Global Challenges. As limited resources continue to inhibit global governance, creative approaches to addressing international problems are necessary. One such approach, leveraging public private partnerships, is becoming an important mechanism through which the international community addresses emerging and persistent problems. Paper and panel proposals that analyze the relationship, effectiveness and legitimacy of public private partnerships at the international level are especially encouraged. Paper and panel proposals on any topic relating to international studies are welcome.

The conference organizers would like to extend a special invitation to student participants. Graduate students are encouraged to submit paper proposals and, if accepted, to compete in the ISA-South Jim Winkates Graduate Student Paper Competition. Please note that in order to accept the award, students MUST attend the Saturday luncheon to be eligible to receive one of the awards. Interested students should contact Margaret Commins. The organizers also encourage paper submissions from outstanding undergraduate students for a special panel featuring their research. (Note: To be considered undergraduate students must have a faculty sponsor who will commit to attend the conference.  Please indicate undergraduate status and the contact details of your faculty sponsor on your proposal). In addition to the award opportunities, student registration fees are subsidized, and additional student travel grants are available for students presenting papers.

The deadline for paper/panel submissions is Friday, August 16th 2013. Questions about potential submissions and participation should be sent by e-mail to the Program Chairs, Margaret Commins and Alexa Royden.